Friday, September 4, 2015

Fab Fit Fun Fall 2015

Fab Fit Fun for Fall 2015!

Say that five times fast!

Hi everyone,
So recently I signed up for Fab Fit Fun, a subcription box that kind of is similar to PopSugar Must Have in that it's more full spectrum regular life type stuff rather than makeup or cosmetics only. After subbing to cosmetics only boxes I got pretty burnt out on SO MUCH makeup, especially after realizing that I pretty much only wear the same color eyeshadows everyday. I am trying not to bring so much STUFF In my life either, but at the same time, since these things are more useful, they are also great for gifting as well/passing along to friends.

My only change to my makeup since high school is to add bronzer to the mix and actually let my eyebrows grow out after the 90's super thin craze. I'm lucky to have eyebrows after that!

So Fab Fit Fun is quarterly, and costs roughly $50 per box. If you sign up for a year, it's about $184 after taxes, and then you also get to choose your color variations on some of the products through your dashboard, which is what appealed to me personally since I can be kind of picky about colors of my belongings. Not to mention that you save money in the long run.

If you would like to save $10 off of your first box, use this link! It is a referal link, so if that does not appeal to you, you can instead use the code TENOFF and just go directly to Fab Fit Fun to order.
Another code that you can use is FALLJAMS and it will give you a free wireless speaker with your Fall 2015 box.
They also just added an "add on" program, which allows you do add on prior boxes and products to your current box at a reduced price. So if you missed out on something in a past box, but really want it, it could be your chance.

The add ons currently available are as pictured below as of 09.04.15

Earlier boxes from this year which is pretty neat if you missed out on a certain one or would like to get one as a gift for someone! 

A Thank You Card set, Lather Hand Cream, Juice Beauty Face Peel, A COCO Candle, The FabFitFun Infuser water bottle [which is actually the item I have been wanting ever since I saw the unboxing of the box that contained it, and as you can see have selected for my own Add On this month], and the Wireless Speaker in either Pink

That is the Wireless Speaker that you get for free with the FALLJAMS code, which I really wish I had known about BEFORE I signed up! Always remember to look for coupon codes before signing up for subscription boxes, or before buying anything online really. or Teal.

Items for Fall 2015 Box with SPOILER PHOTOS!

This month there have been spoilers out already, and then I saw a 3rd item on the dashboard!
If you do not want to know, please stop reading!

If you are curious, then please check out the photos below!

Earlier this week, spoilers were released which showed the battery pack, and the colors that it came in.
But just in case you missed it, here they are:

Item #1

 The HISY Batter pack, and the 3 color choices available. If you are a FABFITFUN Yearly member, you get a choice of your color. Otherwise, you get a randomly selected color. Yearly members can also choose "surprise me" for their color too though, which is nice. It's compatable with Android Phones as well as Iphones, and retails for $29.99

Item #2

Tribe Alive, Tribe Alive bracelet, Crystal bracelet, FabFitFun, Fab Fit Fun, FabFitFun Fall 2015

Next we have the Glass Crystal Bead Bracelet by Tribe Alive. Tribe Alive has a really really great mission which is the following: "Tribe Alive utilizes a passion for fashion and responsible commerce as a platform to help alleviate poverty among women. We work with artisan partners all over the world to employ impoverished women at fair trade wages and give them access to a safe job, sustainable income and a chance to determine their own future..."

This is a great cause, and it's nice that FabFitFun is supporting them by including them in the Fall Box. We get a crystal bead version which is slightly different than the one sold on their website, and retails for $49.

Item #3 

Fab Fit Fun 2015, Fab Fit Fun, FabFitFun Fall 2015, Spoilers, Ashkahn Shahparni

 The 3rd spoiler that was revealed in the selection area of the Fab Fit Fun Website is this Umbrella by LA-based artist, Ashkahn Shahparni.
An umbrella is exactly the type of thing I would forget to buy myself, but that is useful to keep in the car/coat closet for the rainy season. The colors are very trendy and cute, and it's nice that there is a black color included for people who aren't into bright accessories. These are adorable umbrellas though.
Unfortunately there is nothing online I can find about these, so I'm really not sure what the retail for them would amount to.

So there are the spoilers so far! Is anyone else really excited for this box?
My picks are the Teal charger, the darker blue bead bracelet, and the black umbrella. But really I'm torn between the black, the blue and the coral colored umbrellas because I love all of them!

Thanks so much for reading.

Thursday, June 18, 2015

June 2015 Popsugar Must Have

My June 2015 Popsugar Box finally arrived!
I originally had ordered because of this spoiler image from Popsugar

PopSugar Must Have, Summer 2015, June 2015, Subscription Box
Being that I am a total sucker for yoga stuff, coconut items, outdoors and everything Summer Themed, so this was a no brainer. 

The summer boxes are generally my very favorite ones and items that are used regularly in my life like the turkish towels from last year, came from Popsugar. 

If you're not sure what Popsugar is, it's a subscription box that ships out monthly. For $39.95 a month you get a curated box of lifestyle items, which includes beauty, home, fitness, and accessories. The boxes generally have a theme, and are also seasonal themed.  There are also deals if you buy 3 months worth of boxes at a time, or 6 months worth. If that sounds interesting to you, here is a link to get your own box. (Note, this is a referral link) Make sure that you use the code MUSTHAVE5 to get your $5 off of your very first box!

Now on to the June 2015 box: 

I was pleasantly surprised when the second spoiler came out and it was these sunglasses, by Quay Australia. 
Popsugar Must Have Sunglasses, Quay Australia, 2015 PopSugar Must Have Wayfarer style is my new favorite and my current pair is so scratched up that I can hardly see out of them, and my back-up pair had the arm snap off! So for me, this was truely a great surprise since I was going to buy a new pair of this style of sunglasses anyways, and now there is no need to.

When the surprise boxes line up with real life things I was going to purchase anyways as a replacement it makes me very very happy.

I think they were having trouble selling these boxes because of that fashion design box that turned out to be kind of a flop unfortunately. Generally they don't usually do such a generous coupon code AND also tell you a second spoiler like that.

The box shipped to me from New York, so I got mine fairly late in the game which is a bummer. Spoilers have been floating around for a couple of weeks now, so the surprise aspect was not really there for me, but that's okay! Looking up the box actually made me more excited for what was coming in the mail.

Because of the coupon code floating around for the free wallet with any subscription, I do have an extra item in my box.

Popsugar Must Have June, Popsugar 2015, Popsugar June 2015, Qauy, Judy Blume, In The Unlikely Event, Spongelle, Sweet and Spark, Pacifica Eyeshadow Palette, Summer 2015,Soriel, Must Have, Subscription Box

The contents breakdown:
  • Bonus in my box from the Coupon Code: Soriel Wallet $49 (you can currently find these on Ebay for $20, so the value is fairly fluid)
  • Total Box Value: 135.77  w/o the free gift. With the free gift, around $155.77-$185.77 depending upon where you buy the clutch. 
All in all this box is a win for me. I loved Judy Blume books as a teenager, so this will be perfect to read. I've been needing a headband for at night, but it's totally one of those things that I keep forgetting to buy. The gummy candy is a fun addition, although Vitamin infused items can make me sick so I have to be careful. The spongelle is a fun item that would have never occured to me, the sunglasses were really needed, and the eyeshadow palette is perfect because I just used up all of my Stila Lame' which was a bright yellow just like this one. 

Anyone else just now get their boxes? I'm hoping July shows up a little bit sooner than this one did.

Speaking of July, they have released a spoiler and it looks intriguing! Also, they are giving away 10 Sephora GiftCards worth $100 each to 10 lucky subscribers. here is a link to get your own box. (Note, this is a referral link) Make sure that you use the code MUSTHAVE5 to get your $5 off of your very first box!

POPSUGAR Must Have July 2015 Box Theme Spoilers + Coupon!

Happy Summer and thanks for reading!

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Shiny Feet Foot Peel Review

Being around online in beauty communities, I kept reading about the Baby Feet foot peel. It's basically an acid peel for your feet that magically causes all the dead skin to peel off in layers.
I was desperate for something to get all the calloused thick skin off of my heels, and reading around online caused me to find this review of a product called Shiny Feet, which does the same thing as the ever famous Baby Feet, but costs half as much.

Curious, I ordered on Amazon, (This is not an affiliate link), and eagerly awaited my package. It arrived, and opening it revealed not a brown box like pictured in the blog above, but a Blue version!
Tony Moly Shiny Foot, Shiny Feet, Korean Foot Peel, Baby FeetI was a little worried that I had somehow ordered a knock off, since it is amazon and that can happen unfortunately due to secondary sellers. But looking on the Tony Moly website, it appears they have switched packaging.

Opening it revealed two feet shaped pouches containing the acid peel solution.

 Also included are the "socks" that you put on, and then a little pouch of foot cream.

All in all, it's fairly straightfoward, although there was some confusion online about if you should soak your feet or not beforehand.

The backs of the feet shaped pouches have the instructions on them.

You put on the socks, making sure to put both layers on your feet, as the inner layer soaks up the solution and then the outer layer keeps it all in since it's plastic.
 Here are what the slippers look like. It's been said by many people that they look like the ones for clean rooms, and I agree with that.
It felt like I was prepping to walk in a hospital or something. haha.
But you can see here that each one has a sticker tab that you use to close the slippers, and then also a tie that goes around the ankles to keep it from moving around.

Unfortunately my photos of these on my feet did not turn out very well. But basically, you put on the slippers first. Open up one of the feet shaped pouches, and pour in the acid peel solution. On the first foot I did, I didn't focus on making sure it went in the bottom and I had to move my foot around a bunch to redistribute it. On the second foot I moved my foot over and concentrated the peel in the bottom.
My feet are a size 8.5 and I would say that these fit me just fine. I don't know if they would work well for size 10 feet though. But the stickers held up great as did the ties.
I left mine on for 2 hours and I DID NOT soak my feet beforehand. I personally figured that soaking before would cause the dead skin to soak up water and therefore not as much of the peel solution.

I did not experience any irritation for leaving the peel on for 2 hours. It was a little weird to walk around with the slippers on [I only got up 3 times in the time frame, and was careful walking around because I was scared of ripping the slippers.]

After the 2 hours, I was really happy to not have bags on my feet, and just washed off my feet with water and that was that.

Everything I read said to expect results in 5 days. I did the peel on a weds, and on Sunday was disappointed because nothing seemed to be happening. I took a shower, went to bed, woke up for work and was totally surprised by what I saw.

PLEASE NOTE, THE FOLLOWING PHOTOS ARE OF MY FEET. My feet with sheets of dead skin peeling off of them.
If that bothers you, I suggest you stop reading. For those who do not want to see the photos, just know that this product really does work, and works well. 

For those of you who do want to see the photos, here are my results:

My toes had some peeling at first. It's just barely noticable on the sides and on my big toe.
Tony Moly Shiny Foot, Shiny Feet, Korean Foot Peel, Baby Feet

 Underneath you can see more pronounced peeling.
It was like paper, just sheets of dead skin.
Tony Moly Shiny Foot, Shiny Feet, Korean Foot Peel, Baby Feet

  More gross peeling toe photos, sorry. But it seriously was crazy how much skin was coming off.

Tony Moly Shiny Foot, Shiny Feet, Korean Foot Peel, Baby Feet
Then we have my heel. After work, my heel had an area rubbed free of the dead skin because of my shoe.
I should note that none of this was painful at all.
The acid peel only effects the dead skin, so that's all that was coming off. It looks painful in this photo, but I assure you it was not at all! The pink color is because that's the fresh layers of skin underneath. It's not the skin being rubbed raw like it appears, I promise!

Tony Moly Shiny Foot, Shiny Feet, Korean Foot Peel, Baby Feet, Dead Skin PeelThen I looked at the bottoms of my feet, and realized that there were literally sheets of dead skin peeling off of them. It was really creepy looking. The peel worked best on the bottoms of my feet because that's where all the dead skin was at.

There are varied opinions on to peel it off yourself or not.
I did peel off the pieces that were really really loose, but I did not pick at my feet because I was scared of damaging my skin.

On the bottoms of my feet, the skin pretty much came off in sheets like this for the whole thing. Taking a shower made the skin start separating, and peeling.

 Here you can see how thick the dead skin that came off is.
It was like this on both of the bottoms on my feet, which was just crazy.

As you can see, it retains the patterns which was admittedly really weird.
If you enjoy putting glue on your hands as a kid, you will most definitely enjoy this peel.

The tops of my feet are still peeling off, although much much less dramatically than the bottoms. It's also a much much thinner layer.

My feet are nice and soft now, and completely normal looking. The skin on my heels is pinker than usual as well, and has barely any calloused areas left.

 I would say this peel was a total success! For $10, it is most definitely worth it. I am planning on doing it again.
If you need some extra help getting ready for wearing flip flops or sandals, and don't want to spend a ton of money, this is a really great way to accomplish that.
Just make sure you can schedule some time when you don't need to walk around much/at all, and I would say not to soak your feet beforehand. Also make sure you can wear close toed shoes for about 2 weeks after.

If you're diabetic, or have circulation problems, please make sure to consult a dr before using these foot peels.

Thanks so much for reading and even more if you got through those horrible photos! Let me know if this review helps you!